COVID-19 UPDATE: Blackwelder Law is open!
As we follow government social distancing guidelines and encourage you to do the same, we know that time is key in many legal cases. You can reach an attorney to schedule a phone or video consultation by calling or texting 910-489-2178 or Click Here to reach out to us electronically. It is our honor to serve you and we pray that you and your families remain safe and healthy.

An overview of the driving points system in South Carolina 

On Behalf of | Nov 3, 2021 | Traffic Violations

Driving is a fundamental aspect of daily life for many people across South Carolina. Frequently, individuals use their vehicles to get to work, drop their children off at school or simply visit their loved ones. 

As a result, being cited for traffic violations can have significant consequences. Many traffic violations will result in points being placed on your license. Outlined below is an overview of the driving points system in South Carolina. 

How do driving points work?

Essentially, driving points are equivalent to having negative marks placed against your record. Where drivers rack up a certain number of points, they could potentially face a license suspension. 

Typically, drivers over 18 years of age will be afforded a limit of 12 points. Those who have beginners’ permits or restricted licenses could face a suspension with as few as six points. 

The tiered point system

Violations can be broken down into three separate categories: two-point violations, four-point violations and six-point violations. Two-point violations generally concern violations that are considered to be less serious in nature. For example, parking dangerously, failing to dim high beam headlights in the presence of oncoming traffic and speeding (up to 10mph over the limit) could all be categorized as two-point offenses. 

Six-point violations represent the more severe end of the scale. For example, hitting speeds that are 25mph over the limit could be categorized as a six-point violation. It is important to note that offenses such as hit-and-run accidents that involve injury and DUI offenses are not included in the point system, due to their severity. 

Understanding the driving point system in South Carolina could be in your best interests. If you are facing legal proceedings for traffic violations, it may also be of benefit to obtain the assistance of an experienced traffic violations attorney