What happens if you get caught driving with a suspended license?

On Behalf of | May 19, 2020 | Criminal Defense

Although many adults treat driving as though it is a basic right, it is a privilege. Those who don’t comply with regulations regarding their behavior and their driving practices could wind up without a valid driver’s license.

Losing your license or having it temporarily suspended can cause significant hardship, which is one reason why some people with a suspended license might decide that they still want to drive despite not having a current license. What happens if you get caught while driving on a suspended license in South Carolina?

The reason for the suspension affects the consequences

Not all kinds of driving on a suspended license carry the same consequences and have the same severity in the eyes of the law in South Carolina. Those who lose their license for specific, dangerous behaviors will face more significant penalties than those who lose their license for administrative reasons, like not submitting proper paperwork on time.

For those facing a first charge related to driving on a suspended license, the consequences for more generalized offenses will include a fine, up to 30 days of jail time or both. If the charges stem from a suspension related to impaired driving, the penalties could increase. There is a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail, with a potential sentence of up to 30 days. In both cases, you can also expect the state to suspend your license for additional time, possibly the same amount as the original suspension.

Defending yourself against these charges or even seeking a temporary license could be a way for you to reduce the impact a license suspension can have on your life. If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended licence, an experienced traffic attorney can help.